Student Resources

Login Here
Beauregard Parish Library

Knowledge, Growth, Imagination

Click here to read details of our current COVID-19 Phase Operation.

Staff Pick

Need a suggestion for something to read or watch from the library this weekend? Maybe you'd like to check out an ebook or audiobook? Try some of our Staff Picks, to find what some of the other people in our parish are enjoying.

We know that not every staff pick will appeal to every patron, but not to worry! If you need help selecting something, we have online tools like Book Browse and our Online Catalog, or you can ask one of our friendly staff members to help search for you.

Charley Davidson [series] by Darynda Jones

The Charley Davidson series by Darynda Jones is a paranormal mystery set in Albuquerque, New Mexico that is full of sarcastic wit, a great supporting cast, and a grim reaper. That would be Charley, our coffee addicted heroine who can see dead people. Charlotte "Charley" Davidson works as a PI and consultant to the Albuquerque police. She solves murders the others can't because she can talk directly to the departed.

This series is fun because Charley is so irreverent. Some of the best jokes come from chapter introductions that can be anything from a saying on a T-shirt, bumper sticker, or an internet meme. The crimes are also interesting and often multi-layered. Even those who don't necessarily like paranormal elements in their mysteries may still be interested in the crime elements alone. For those who do like the paranormal, Charley's role as the grim reaper means that she is a portal for those to pass from this life to the after life. Often the most moving scenes in the books are the ones in which Charley experiences the memories of the Departeds lives as they pass through her.

If any of that interests you, try this series. If the amount of titles seems intimidating, you can also start at book nine, The Dirt on Ninth Grave, because it involves an amnesia plot for the heroine. It is extra fun for audiobook listeners because Lorelai King, famous for also narrating the Stephanie Plum series, delivers a consistently wonderful performance.

The series reading order is:

  • First Grave on the Right
  • Second Grave on the Left
  • Third Grave Dead Ahead
  • *For I Have Sinned [short story, ebook only]
  • Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet
  • Fifth Grave Past the Light
  • Sixth Grave on the Edge
  • Seventh Grave and No Body
  • Eighth Grave After Dark
  • The Dirt on Ninth Grave
  • The Curse of Tenth Grave

  • If the Charley Davidson series interests you, feel free to request or check it out. We'll be back next Thursday with a different Staff Pick.

    Posted Thursday August 4, 2016 10:00am

    Contact Us:

    Any comments concerning this Web Page should be sent to: