Webmail
Login Here
Beauregard Parish Library

Knowledge, Growth, Imagination

The DeRidder Branch of the Beauregard Parish Library is now open Monday through Wednesday and Friday between 9:00 AM and 5:30 PM, Thursday between 9:00 AM and 7:30 PM and Saturday 9:00 AM and 1:00 PM. Details of our Phase 3 operations can be seen here. We are working on hurricane clean-up and remediation to return service to our rural locations as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience.


Find It Fridays

Use BookBrowse to find your next page turner!

This week we want to talk about BookBrowse and what a great resource it can be for patrons. The BookBrowse database is available from BPL’s homepage and offers book reviews, book suggestions, read-alikes, and even online reading clubs. If you are stuck and looking for a new author to try out or if you want to venture into a new genre completely, this is the database for you! This week we will talk about the Read-Alike feature.

Read-Alike: This feature gives you a great option for finding books that have similar characteristics to those you have already read. All you need is a title of a book you loved, or even an author, and the database will give you similar results based on a formula of sorts. These results could have a similar plot, writing style, or tone. This is a great way to read new authors and series while still sticking with a genre you already know you enjoy!

For Example: If you really enjoyed the book Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn you would type that title into the Read-Alike search function. From there you will select “See Read-Alikes” and the next page will give you the results. Each of the results will give the book title, the author, and a short description of the book.

permalink
Posted Friday March 13, 2015 09:00am

Home
Contact us:
  • Telephone: (337) 463-6217
    or 1-800-524-6239 for areas of Beauregard Parish that are a long distance call
  • Fax: (337) 462-5434
  • Email: help@beau.org
  • Mailing Address:
    Beauregard Parish Library
    205 South Washington Ave.
    DeRidder, LA 70634

Any comments concerning this Web Page should be sent to: webmaster@beau.org